Matanzas and Santiago lead the opening

The third day of the Opening Tournament of the 107th. The Cuban National Football League has released a number of results that confirm how close the fight for the first national title will be in 2023.

In the west, Matanzas continued his perfect run through Group A after beating favorites Artemisa 2-0. Goals from Kelvin Castañeda and Yasnière Martínez saw Yumurino score nine points and secure the lead.

Also in the west, Havana and Pinar del Río beat Villa Clara (0) and Isla de la Juventud (0) respectively by a minimum score. Thus, the inhabitants of the capital reached seven detachments, and the vueltabajero four, and remained in the forward detachment.

Another player who, despite no wins, remained in the top zone of the Western table was Cienfuegos (7), who drew 1-1 with Mayabeque (1).

Meanwhile, in Group B, Santiago de Cuba (7) continues to lead after beating Granma 2-0 with a brace by Leandro Mena.

The surprise of the date was the defeat of Guantanamo (6) by Holguin (6) with a score of 2-1, which did not allow the Titans to rise at the head of the east.

As for other results, Ciego de Ávila (6) and Sancti Spiritus (3) beat Las Tunas (1) and Camagüey (2) (1:0), the latter team falling short of expectations.

On the fourth day the duels will be: VCL-MTZ, LHA-ART, PRI-CFG, MAY-IJV, CAV-SCU, LTU-GRA, CMG-GTM and HOL-SSP, always in the house of the first.

Results of the 3rd day:

VCL 0-LHA 1 (Osval Hernandez 17)

CFG May 1-1 (Abel Ocampos 75/ Yuciel Menendez 35)

IJV 0-PRI 1 (Yasel Porciano 62)

MTZ 2-ART 0 (Kelvin Castañeda 32 and Yasnir Martinez 62)

CAV 1-LTU 0 (Junior Hernandez 17)

SCU 2-GRA 0 (Leandro Mena 9, 13)

GTM 1-HOL 2 (Alexey Suaznabar, 67/ Christian Valiente, 46, 70)

SSP 1-CMG 0 (Lionel Rojas 33)


The Havana team became national champions in the under-12 category by beating their counterpart from Guantanamo Bay in a penalty shoot-out during the second leg of the final.

Little Leones won the first match with a score of 1:0, but in the second set the Guazo team won 2:1, which allowed the match to go into overtime.

Dylan Leyva opened the scoring for the residents of the capital with a maximum penalty of 45. Later, at 48, Victor Alejandro Pérez equalized in the same way, and at 51 René Gabriel Pérez put the Eastern players ahead.

Finally, in the so-called “lottery” of twelve steps, the Havanese won with a score of 8-7.

Source: Juventud Rebelde


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More