Japan, three-time world champion in classic baseball

With a legendary strikeout from none other than Shohei Otani to Mike Trout, the greatest baseball player of modern times, the final game between Japan and the United States ended, making the Asian team the first three-time world champion.

Never before have these teams faced off in a championship game, despite the Japanese being monarchs in the original two editions and the northerners in the last.

Predictions were confirmed in this final bout, the samurai are invincible and the Americans have lost only once, against Mexico, ultimately also a semi-finalist and almost an executioner in that case, now three-time champions, whom they had the opportunity to break. their.

In front of over 36,000 people at Miami’s Ioan Depot Park, a dramatic and spectacular gold game was played in which four of the five runs were home runs: two on each side, always with clean bases, which is confirmed by the pitching. dominance to avoid running runners.

Americans Trea Turner and Kyle Schwarber scored for their team, with Munetaka Murakami and Kazuma Okamoto on the other side.

There couldn’t have been a more sensational epilogue to the clash than Otani as the pitcher and Trout in a bat with one strikeout left in the game. Or a home run to tie him down. But the samurai from the other world managed to ensure victory with nothing more than a blow.

Otani saved that game and put on a splendid performance in two of his roles as pitcher and winger, earning him Classic Player of the Year honors, and was named to the All-Star Game in two positions: pitcher and designee, adding to his legend.

The ideal team included two Cuban team players: Yoan Moncada (3B) and Miguel Romero (bullpen pitcher).

Also featured on this select list are Patrick Sandoval (MEX, starter), Salvador Perez (VEN, catcher), Yu Chang (TCH, first base), Javier Baez (PUR, second base), Trea Turner (USA, shortstop) and outfielders Masataka Yoshida (Japan), Mike Trout (USA) and Randy Arozarena (Mexico).

The sixth edition of the Classic will take place in March 2026, according to what MLB commissioner Rob Manfred revealed on Tuesday, a year in which two decades of the type’s first competition, also won by Japan, will be remembered.

The Japanese repeated this in 2009, and then the Dominican Republic (2013) and the United States (2017) became monarchs. Only on two occasions, the third and this one, does the king end the calendar undefeated.

Source: Juventud Rebelde


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More