Twelve will go for bronze

Domadores de Cuba’s first loss at the 2023 Tashkent World Boxing Championships came on Tuesday, breaking the Antilleans’ 23-fight streak.

It was Erislan Romero (51kg) who left the ring with his head bowed after he was, as predicted, bested by one of the local idols, the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic champion Hasanboy Dusmatov, who imposed his experience in quadrangles. world to the Creole novel.

However, after this gaffe, five Cuban hands were raised in the rest of the cartel.

Arlen Lopez (80kg) did better in his second world fight appearance, defeating Hungarian Pal Kovacs almost walking the board. All the judges saw a major victory for ours, who now have to face the Chinese Tanglatikhan Touohetaerbike for access to the bronze.

After this fight, it was the turn of Jorge Cuellar (71 kg) to defend his pass to the dispute for getting into the winners’ table, but the Ecuadorian Jose Rodriguez did not pave the way for him, but on the contrary, so that the one from the Greater Antilles He had to work hard to become the winner, which he achieved with a spectacular third round, in which the votes of the judges were split 5-2 in favor of the man from Sancti Spiritus.

The rest of the Tamers who participated in the battle on Tuesday immediately moved on to the next phase.

First, Yosbani Veitiya (54 kg) beat Turk Enver Muzafir; a little later, Roniel Iglesias (67 kg) did the same with Giancarlo Anchico Mina from Ecuador.

The stage was then set for reigning 75kg world champion Yoenlis Hernandez, who completed the list of 12 Cuban fighters who will go for bronze in their upcoming matches. The man from Camagüey clearly outnumbered Mongolian Zhargal Otgonzhargal 5:0.

Upcoming Cuban fights:

Alejandro Claro (48 kg) vs. Bashir A. Akil (SCO)

Yosbani Veitia (54 kg) vs. Y. Rivas Finol (VEN)

Saidel Horta (57 kg) vs. S. Temirzhanov (KAZ)

Erislandy Alvarez (60 kg) vs. A. Chilata (ZAM)

Lazaro Alvarez (63.5 kg) vs. K. Baatarsukh (MGL)

Roniel Iglesias (67 kg) vs. Asadkhuja Muidinkhudzhaev (UZB)

Jorge Cuellar (71 kg) vs. Nishant Dev (India)

Yoenly Hernandez (75 kg) vs. Mofid Rami (BUL)

Arlen Lopez (80 kg) vs. Tanglatihan Tuohetaerbike (CHI)

Nelson Williams (86 kg) vs. R. Romero (MEX)

Julio Cesar La Cruz (92 kg) vs. L. Mullojanov (UZB)

Fernando Arsola (+92 kg) vs. Mr Baikewuzi (CHN)

Source: Juventud Rebelde


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More